The Swiss law is protecting two- or three-dimensional creations of products or parts thereof as Designs. They are specially characterised by the arrangement of lines, surfaces, contours or colours, or by the material used (Art. 1 of the Design Act). For the Design Act to protect the Designs it requires that the creations are new and display some uniqueness (Art. 2 of the Design Act). If that is the case, then the proprietor will, following registration, have the exclusive right to use, license and market the Design.

The explanations on this website contain basic information about Swiss and international Design rights. This will provide you with a first insight into the system of Design protection, it will inform you about the statutory basis in Switzerland and, inter alia, enable you to get an idea of the registration procedure and the scope of protection available for of a Design in Switzerland.

In respect of any legal and strategic questions, for example in connection with the application and filing of a Design, its licensing or the procedure in the event of an infringement of a protected Design as well as any associated services, such as searches in respect of novelty, or the management of the Design portfolio, the Attorneys-at-Law and Patent Attorneys of Rentsch Partner AG would be pleased to be of assistance.

 

 

protection of furniture design - protectable and protected.
[ design above by Balz Steiger]

Das Schweizer Recht schützt die zwei- oder dreidimensionale Gestaltung von Erzeugnissen oder Teilen von Erzeugnissen als Design. Diese sind namentlich durch die Anordnung von Linien, Flächen, Konturen oder Farben oder durch das verwendete Material charakterisiert (Art. 1 Designgesetz). Das Designgesetz setzt für den Schutz von Design voraus, dass die Gestaltungen neu sind und Eigenart aufweisen (Art. 2 Designgesetz). Ist dies der Fall, so kann der Inhaber das Design nach dessen Eintragung ausschliesslich nutzen, lizenzieren und vermarkten.

Die Ausführungen auf dieser Website enthalten grundlegende Informationen über das schweizerische und internationale Designrecht. Sie ermöglichen Ihnen einen ersten Einstieg in das System des Designschutzes, weisen auf die gesetzlichen Grundlagen in der Schweiz hin und erlauben Ihnen unter anderem, sich ein Bild über das Eintragungsverfahren sowie den Schutzbereich eines Designs in der Schweiz zu machen.

Für rechtliche und strategische Fragen zum Beispiel zur Anmeldung und Hinterlegung eines Designs, dessen Lizenzierung oder zum Vorgehen bei Verletzung eines bereits geschützten Designs sowie damit zusammenhängenden Dienstleistungen wie Recherchen zur Neuheit oder dem Management des Designportfolios helfen Ihnen die Rechtsanwälte und Patentanwälte von Rentsch Partner AG gerne weiter.

 

 

Designschutz von Möbel - Schützbar und geschützt.
[Obiges Design von Balz Steiger]